After a long absence, largely catching up with projects that have long been unfinished, I have finally FINISHED several, and should have a series of new patterns to present over the next few weeks.  The first pattern I have to share with you is one of my favorites, and was sadly a Knitty reject.  They get so many awesome socks, I don’t envy them choosing between them.

These socks have briefly shown up on one of my lace lists as evidence that you CAN mix lace and colorful yarns, provided you pick the right lace!  Madeira Cascade consists of 3 very distinct sections – solid, biasing triangles, separated by a background of mesh lace pyramids, all of which is set apart by purl welts.  Each texture handles the colors of yarn very differently, so each stands out from the rest clearly and distinctly.  This lace pattern can handle almost any yarn (although I’ve yet to try it with stripes, the strong bias should make it lovely!), from light to dark, from wild to subtle, and still show off to good effect.  Anyhow, without further ado, I present to you my Maderia cascade Socks!

