Happy 2009 everyone! May 2008 soon be but a long lost memory (at least in some worldly/USAian government and economic senses and such). 2008 wasn’t such a bad year really for me and Suzi’s Knits. I managed to solidify my new active lifestyle, and completed my marathon (raising nearly $3000 for AIDS treatment) and 2 half marathons, I was published twice in Knitty (and got some really AWESOME yarn samples from Crystal Palace, they do make the best sock yarn… hey Mini Mochi isn’t out anywhere near me yet… beg beg beg) and I acquired 3 new furballs. The theme for this years blog (aside from knitting of course!) will likely be split between me doing my best to stick with the running and fitness (may drag Peter out for the Silicon Valley Marathon…), and of course ongoing commentary on the buns and cat, since they are terminally cute.

Felt Cat ToysToday’s update from fuzzball land is that I made some felt cat toys, they are hideously easy to make. Lucia’s favorite toys are those hard foam cat balls (she dislikes catnip and bells) but of course she’s EXCELLENT at losing them so I was hunting a cheaper alternative. She still likes the store bought ones better than mine, but she WAS witnessed to play with mine, and even CAUGHT one in her mouth, ran upstairs, and dropped it at my feet like a dead mouse gift. Very cute. Anyhow, directions for the balls are best found elsewhere online. I didn’t bother to needle felt them into rounder shape (or rather I tried and failed) but I did make 2 variations. On some I wound some yarn around before I felted them in the wash for funky designs, and on others I needle felted yarn designs on them after (WAYYYY too much like work for all the cat does not care) My only caveat on the directions I linked to is, they come out the shape they come out. Make sure you wedge them in the nylons tight, and make sure they go in as round as possible. They make quick, cheap cat-approved toys. And if you don’t have spare stuff out there for felting… (I wonder how you found my blog? 😉 ) there’s tons of cheap wool on ebay. Nice colored stuff on etsy too. And you can also just toss a ball of wool yarn with tucked in ends into the washer…

