Its been a while since I posted…  again… I hit a bit of a slum over the past week or so and wasn’t really feeling like blogging.  Here’s the running update so far:

June 19: I hit the realization of the OTHER reason I have to go running in the morning.  Seems the shade falls where I run in the morning, and its all roasting sun if I get lazy.  Not to mention it had been hot and it just didn’t cool down til like 11 at night…

June 21: 23 mile run with the team.  Uh, no, I didn’t forget to update my longest run to date…  23 miles just didn’t happen.  We went up to SF because we’ve run out of trail in Los Gatos at 20 miles, AND the weather was supposed to be ungodly hot.  Melissa was on a camping trip so I joined the SF pace group.  WOW, BIG.  I think there were like 15 people running in one big mob.  And boy are they hardcore.  Despite coach insistence, we set our watches for a 3:1 ratio (supposed to walk 2 on the psycho-long runs!)  Luckily the San Franciscans know nothing of heat, and thought it was hot at 72 degrees and quickly saw reason and switched to the slower pace.  Then the real problems hit.  Seems this pace group has taken the rather deadly concept into their heads that if you wait until you’re thirsty to drink, its too late.  They guzzled water down, and every 3 miles or so (literally every available toilet) about half the group got in line to empty their bladders.  5+ mins just standing around, trying not to get cold.  Combine this with a really hilly course along Fell and lake, and well…  my knees just up and quit on me.  I tried dropping back to a slower group, but before long it hurt just to walk, and at 12 miles (when I caught up to the pace group JUST WALKING as they stopped at YET ANOTHER TOILET) I knew I was done, and the group advised me to stop before it got worse.  So i trudged the half mile back to basecamp, really upset with myself and my body for needing to quit.  Now don’t get me wrong, on race day I’d have kept going AND MADE IT – it wasn’t a horrible ouch something’s broken pain, it was just muscle overuse strain in the IT band area, but….  6 weeks to race day you just don’t push an injury during training.  but it really hurt somehow to have my body crap out on me.  I checked in with both coaches back at the start point, who assured me that its safe to run on the kind of pain I had on a race day (but also good to stop that day) and foam rollered out my hurting right outer thigh.  I was feeling pretty dead AND discouraged.  I felt MUCH better after 20 miles than I felt after just those 12.  Couldn’t even really stay awake at the midsummer party we attended afterwards.  And of course by the next day, my RIGHT knee felt fine and EVERYTHING ELSE HURT!

Over the next week, I didn’t run much.  I as limping a tad now from LEFT IT band strain, and didn’t feel like pushing it either  Thurs I was barely okay to get going, and took Peter with me for moral support.  We ran the first half of 3 miles, then walked it in.  I did drag myself to Saturday’s 8 mile recovery run, and ran about 6 or 7 of the miles.  Thankfully I didn’t feel all that bad after that (and I made sure this time to foam roller out even the parts that didn’t hurt yet!) and seem to be up and running today.  And of course in denial of my human frailty I decided to take fewer walk breaks (couldn’t find my watch) and still sprint the last bit before my cooldown.  😛  I guess I needed to prove I’m still able to do this at all.

Anyhow…  😛  I’m kinda surprised at how much one little setback knocked my mood down.  Seeming like I’m back on track now, but…  anyone have any suggestions for how to not get discouraged by a bad run?  This is the first major training run I’ve missed or not finished (though I’ve walked the ends of several) and for some reason it just felt like total failure.  I’m a bit unnerved and could use some ideas for how to get over it!

