My Panda Silk GG socks are finished (shall try them out on tomorrows run and review) so its time to play with the Crazy Monkey yarn! ๐Ÿ™‚ After having done 2 pairs of GG socks… I have no attention span for a third! So I decided to come up with a new motif, using the runner from the AIDS marathon logo. This was a bit of a challenge for me. I think best in lace as far as knitting goes and I simply couldn’t figure out how to represent him well that way. My one attempt at mapping him out in knits and purls was an utterly unrecognizable mess (tho the chart would have worked nice for colorwork!) eventually on the verge of giving up, chatting in #socknitters on Freenode with Charlton Wilbur, we hit on the idea of representing the runner in cables. I ended up with my first attempt looking to me like a walker, so I have 2 figures:

He still needs a few minor changes. In particular I’m thinking his back leg is a little loooooong… which will only get worse when stretched out on a sock. I also want to tweak that back foot just a tad. but… he looks shockingly like the logo! ๐Ÿ™‚ Now I just have to figure out what to do with the rest of the space on the sock! BTW, opinions on whether or not to keep the sun up in the corner are welcome…

