So yesterday I talked about my new thing, where I’ve decided to try to run faster on my short, middle-of-the-week runs, both for the heck of seeing that I can run faster without dying, and because I have this hope of doing a second, faster marathon, and I figure may as well start sloooooooooooowly building up speed on my short runs now, so I can stretch them out later if I get into Nike. Well, today was the first time I was really “serious” about going faster (not so fast I get winded, just pushing a little more than I would if I had to go 10 miles!) – Tuesday I kinda had the idea half way thru the run, mostly because I *thought* I was going really slowly. It’s actually kind of fun to try to run faster on these “shorter” distances like 4.4 miles (again, OMG I’m calling 4.4 miles shorter???????). For me to run faster, I don’t actually feel like I’m moving faster – the rhythm of my feet on the sidewalk is about constant. I just FLY more each step. Stretch my legs! larger strides. I think of it as running further, not longer. I get more air in each step and more or less fly forward, and concentrate on feelign the stretch in my legs as my stride lengthens. It actually feels really good. I can’t sustain it uphill (heck, uphill I’m happy to not slow down) but on a flat or downhill it really does feel like flying, a bit, and I swear my legs stay looser feeling thru the whole run when I lengthen the pace. I got home feeling pretty much fine – mild ache in my knee where it always mild aches, mild ache in my foot where it’s hurt since Sat’s long run, but nothing new or extreme, and not all that tired either. New shoes must be working. Then I looked at my watch as I walked up to the door… 47:30! That’s about 10 3/4 mins per mile! It feels kind of impressive to cut, what, 5 mins off my previous time just by deciding to do it, and not hurting for it. 🙂 Then I shower and put on my size 4 jeans as its a work at home day… Damn things are already loose. I swear I need a weight loss sponsorship from DKNY, this is gonna get expensive…

So if any runners are out there reading my blog (and I’ll post this on Spark people too…) I have a question. Is this a sane training program? I had thought from my AIDS marathon training manual that the on-your-own runs were also to be at our slow pace, but I rather like pushing faster on the shorter runs. I just want to make sure I’m not risking injury or something, especially as running is a bit new to me. Any comments or suggestions?

