I have been very good the last few days. Not only am I sticking with my DDR (totally addicted to it now, lol) but I’ve been out running both of the last 2 days. Today it looked like an indoor day, the morning started pouring rain. I was looking at an office in Morgan Hill on a total whim (hey, everyone needs 2 locations to market right? ๐Ÿ˜› I think I’ll pass, I was hoping it would be an established group practice to join rather than an office to rent).ย  It rained the whole way there. I think the rain followed me south because when I got home it was the prettiest, brightest sunshine you’ve ever seen (not makin’ me love Morgan Hill there…ย  Oh yeah did I mention there’s not a SINGLE child psychiatrist to work with in MH?) and of COURSE Peter wanted to go running in the sun! He’s a Swede and they’re a nation of sun addicts.

So I figured out why Peter is more buff than me. Men are like this, you see. He runs *UP* the hills. I’m a lazy bum trying to see how far I can run, not how tired I can make myself. I like to run DOWN the hills and walk up them. ๐Ÿ˜› But I had promised to let him set the pace since he’s only just back into working out at all after a winter couped up in doors, so I had to follow him on up that hill. *whew* I may need to do that more often, it is definitely more work.

And on the knitting front… I GOT A SLEEVE DONE! YAY! Now all I have to do is chop off one of Peter’s arms and his sweater is done. No wait… ๐Ÿ˜› I’m supposed to knit a second one. ugh….. second sleeves are worse than second socks I swear. they come at the end of a whole rest of the sweater. If I never see brown and green fair isle knitting again, it’ll be too soon. Best of all, it FITS. Dare I say it even fits like it was designed for him… ๐Ÿ˜› This took some doing.

I’m roughly using Ann Budd’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns as a guide. Well, 90% of the directions are “knit for ___ inches then do this decrease pattern, then knit for ___ inches” and so on. So row gauge matters not at all, just stitch gauge. Well, sleeves are not like that, you see. You’re increasing all the way up to the armpit, then decreasing the whole shoulder cap. So I’m merrily knitting along with the ratio in the book when I decide I better measure and do some gauge math. Apparently Fair Isle knitting changes your gauge (I know, DUH but…). In particular, my stitches are almost square – I’m getting fewer rows per inch than I normally would. Therefore, the sleeve as written would have been about 30+ inches long. This sounded somehow wrong… so I measured the boy. He needed 24 inches of arm. So I had to do some serious re-writing of the arm increases and cap decreases. But it seems to have worked – the cap fits nicely into the armhole, and its the right length on Peter when he tried it on with lots of clips holding it together. Here are some pics for your viewing pleasure:

One arm done!Sleeve Detail

