New running shoes“I’m running late,
And I don’t need an excuse,
‘Cause I’m wearing my brand new shoes.”
(song: new shoes sung by Paolo Nutini)

Today was a good day, running-wise. As planned, it started with a trip to an orthopedic doctor, to have a look at my left knee which has really bothered me in the past, to the point of limping for days. He talked to me about the symptoms, poked, prodded, bent, unbent, etc. my knee, got a few good pops out of it which he promptly brushed off as a loose kneecap (apparently not a problem since it seems to stay put) and ran me thru the xray machine, pronouncing my knee healthy. We suspect the problems before were a combination of bad shoes and weak muscles. He soundly dissed my old shoes, which were these cute black slip on things with some minimal arch support that even I knew weren’t gonna do the job.

So after that, it was back to the Runner’s Factory, which is where the team meets up, for some hard core shoe shopping. They got out the “basic” pair for my gait test and I was apparently laughable – the things had as far as I could tell NO ARCH SUPPORT and I felt practically pigeon toed my feet were curling inward so far. He offered to go one step up and I showed him my Dansko everyday office shoes, and said “you got any running shoes with that much arch?” He skipped me right up to the most supportive shoe in that brand… I ran around the building and came back with “well, they’re better…” He went to another wall and said, with mild chagrin, “Okay, this is the most supportive shoe in the store, see how IT works.” What can I say, it fit perfect. Arch not only there, but in the right place. Did someone mold my feet into these shoes? 🙂 I knew right away I liked them, and ran around the store again. He let me try on a few more pairs just for comparison and I didn’t do much more than walk across the store before soundly rejecting them. So yay for Brooks Ariel in stylish white, silver and lime green. At least it wasn’t the pink shoes that fit…

Then I went off for errands (cheap ass pedometer) and work, where I discovered one of my plants, one that survived the windowless kaiser office, had literally keeled over and died in the past 5 days (last time I saw it he was in perfect health!). Got to lecture clients on regular attendance, therapized a kid, bought a new plant, and came on home. Sadly I was unable to go out running with Peter, who likes to run more than me. His work had apparently shat upon him and he couldn’t pull the time away. Which is good because his brain usually shuts down in late afternoon so he’ll feel better for having been productive.

So I was off and running on my own, at 5:20. A little late for me but hey, the sunset was pretty over the hill. The shoes feel good. Bouncy almost. I’m not having to shift my feet and weight to keep comfy, I can just run. I could even run a little uphill. Since I’m trying to work my way up, I decided to add an extra lap around the park, a whole 5, for a grand total counting jog from house of 3.6 miles. Sadly my cheap ass pedometer got hit by someone’s hand (uh… would that be mine? oh. drat.) most of the way thru lap 3 and went flying, hit the ground, and bounced out its battery. I was going to get my average inches per pace on a long sample… oh well so much for that idea. I was definitely feeling it at the end of lap 4 but my lower legs didn’t hurt quite so much and I decided I’m never going to make 26.2 miles if I don’t push myself a little, so added the extra lap. I’m hoping that despite the extra distance, the better shoes will mean I don’t hurt as much tomorrow… I feel a little better now but tis hard to say. I came home in full twilight, somewhere between 40-45 mins later, and popped in the shower to warm UP. I must say this running thing is easier when its cold!

