Aids Marathon Logo

Well everyone, I’ve done it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve gone and signed up for my first marathon. No, I’m not completely crazy! I’ve actually been mulling this idea over ever since a friend of mine in grad school did the same thing. Then, a year and a half ago, my husband and I embarked on a lifestyle change, and I’ve been exercising and eating right, and lost 50 pounds. In the process, I’ve learned a lot about myself. This effort is part of solidifying the changes I’ve begun, both physically and mentally. I CAN DO THIS! ๐Ÿ™‚

I have several goals/reasons/sources of motivation for this decision:

  • I have never been more physically fit in my life. I weigh less than I did in college, and will soon weigh less than I did in High School. I’ve never thought of myself as particularly athletic or fit. I “fondly” remember being the last person picked for any team, and sitting on the sidelines more than playing in most team sports. Completing a Marathon is part of reshaping this image of myself – I can be and AM a fit athletic person, and with the right training and attitude, I CAN DO THIS
  • This is a decisive stroke in my ongoing battle with depression. Research shows exercise is as good as Prozac and I’ll certainly be getting enough of it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Its also an opportunity for a mastery experience in an area I’ve often felt less than confident about. Finally, working on such a large, step-by-step goal, accepting I may not make it the first time but WILL if I keep working towards it, will hep me be more patient with myself – to strive for high goals without demanding perfection or instant success.
  • And of course finally, I want to contribute to a cause. AIDS is a worldwide epidemic, and is one of the leading causes of death in many nations in this world. It is also unfortunately tied in the minds of many to prejudice – too many people believe it is a disease of bad morals, or even a judgment. I want to do my share to support research, treatment and education with the hope of one day eliminating this disease.

In the coming days, as I learn more about the program, you’ll find links here to donate to my race effort. I encourage everyone who cares about or is inspired by ANY of my goals to help me out in whatever way you can, whether that is in the form of donations, going for a run together, or just cheering me on as I work towards this goal. Thank you all so much!

